Instincts

There will be a few times in your life when all your instincts will tell you to do something, something that defies logic, upsets your plans, and may seem crazy to others. When that happens, you do it. Listen to your instincts and ignore everything else. Ignore logic, ignore the odds. Ignore the complications and just go for it. ~ Judith McNaught

This quote was written in Sharpie on the back wall of a locker I used for a little while at Ft. Sill. Written above a beautiful stylized drawing of a tree (nevermind that it was, if very pretty, destruction/defacing of government property and all that…it was much better than the 6-foot long penis we found drawn on the underside of a bunk one time), I first saw it at a time I really needed to be reminded that I was in the right place, no matter how hard things were. I scribbled the quote down in my notebook and forgot about it until I was cleaning out a bag of random stuff a few days ago. I’d also never heard of Judith McNaught. Turns out she’s a modern romance author. Not the first person I’d go to for quotes, but that was very inspiring. There are still many days when I have to remind myself that I followed my heart here. It’s a struggle, it’s difficult, and sometimes still I want to just throw in the towel – but this is where I’m supposed to be.

Say something!

